Sync Licensing: The Gateway To Passive Income For Audio Entrepreneurs – With Travis Terrell

Passive income is the Holy Grail of income types, but it’s something that eludes most audio entrepreneurs. Most of us simply trade dollars for hours.

One way to start building passive income is to venture into the world of sync licensing. The issue, however, is that it’s rapidly-changing, hyper-competitive, full of pitfalls, and a complete
“black box” for the average audio engineer.

In this episode, we interviewed the CEO Soundstripe – a rapidly-growing micro sync licensing platform. He helps break down the wall of confusion and helps us make sense of what’s working in today’s world of sync licensing.

Click the play button below in order to listen to this episode:

Quotes

“What we saw was this opportunity that the bigger companies didn’t see, and that was, everybody with a camera was now a filmmaker.” – Travis Terrell

“I would say that the vast majority of our listeners are creating songs with vocals in them, so it’s interesting to know that if you mute the vocal then suddenly you have two products. The song itself that you’re marketing to listeners and the instrumental that you could be marketing to sync licensing companies.” – Chris Graham

“Stop waiting on motivation to hit and focus on habit. Focus on those 5,000 words per day if you’re Stephen King or that one song per week if you’re a sync licensing artist.” – Brian Hood

Episode Links

Websites

456 Recordings – www.456recordings.com

Chris Graham – www.chrisgrahammastering.com

Soundstripe – www.soundstripe.com

Courses

The Profitable Producer Course – theprofitableproducer.com

6FHS Free Website Course – https://academy.thesixfigurehomestudio.com/

Facebook Community

6FHS Facebook Community – http://thesixfigurehomestudio.com/community

YouTube Channels

The Six Figure Home Studio – https://www.youtube.com/thesixfigurehomestudio

Casey Neistat – https://www.youtube.com/user/caseyneistat

Email

6FHS – podcast@thesixfigurehomestudio.com

Blogs

Travis Terrell – http://www.travisterrell.live/

Music Licensing Companies

Soundstripe – www.soundstripe.com

Marmosethttps://www.marmosetmusic.com/

Pond 5 – https://www.pond5.com/

Music Bed – https://www.musicbed.com/

Artlist – https://artlist.io/

Epidemic Sound – https://www.epidemicsound.com/

Performing Right Organization

ASCAP – https://www.ascap.com/

BMI – https://www.bmi.com/

SESAC – https://www.sesac.com/#/

Books

The Lean Startup by Eric Rieshttps://goo.gl/NAXCT1

Podcasts

Ep. 35: The Secret To Happier Clients, Fewer Revisions, And Faster Projects – https://www.thesixfigurehomestudio.com/the-secret-to-happier-clients-fewer-revisions-and-faster-projects/

People

Miles Davis “Kind Of Blue” – https://goo.gl/DCojwf

Stephen King – https://www.stephenking.com/

Jim Collins “20 Mile March” –https://www.jimcollins.com/concepts/twenty-mile-march.html

Raise Your Rates With Confidence

This free guide gives you rate benchmarks for a number of services–including recording, mixing, mastering, reamping, drum editing, guitar editing, and more!

Also included are The 5 Rules of Free Work. Follow these five rule EVERY SINGLE TIME you do free work, and you'll set yourself up for success.

More Podcast Episodes...

Do You Want To Earn More From Your Studio?

Learn how to run a profitable home studio, keep your schedule consistently full with paid work, and finally GTFO of your parents' basement.

Have a Question?

Fill out this form and we’ll get back to you within 24 hours.